Voxelands Forum

The official Voxelands discussion forum

You are not logged in.

#1 2015-04-08 20:04:01

melkior
Website

New Dev - Considering Contributing, bunch of questions :)

Hello,

I'm a indie game dev; I've made a few games on my own and continue to do so. I also have often used open source programs and have wanted to make some kind of contribution eventually one day.  I don't feel astute enough to get involved in Linux/OS/Kernel style development and browsers (Firefox etc) just aren't that interesting to me ; but being an indie game dev .. well now were talking .. especially when it comes to a project like Voxelands it appears to be something I would enjoy contributing to.

However I do have some questions after poking around for a little bit before I make up my mind.  Please forgive the barrage, I hope its not overwhelming; but like the work I might put in to the project - anything worth doing usually takes time so I greatly appreciate your answers.

- I see on github readme file there are instructions to compile for different platforms - but I would probably be running it on Windows with Visual Studio ; are any of the active developers actually using this themselves?  Just wondering if anyone is out there that could advise me if I run in to setup problems when I try to get started?

- How active is the project?  how many developers? I see commits recently by DarkRose but that's about it? Is this effectively a solo project right now?

- I have a lot of graphics/art capabilities ; but I'm concerned how set the art style is for the game? I don't see any documentation about style  (or almost anything for that matter) but I don't want to spend a week making a monster model to be told it just doesn't look right? Is the goal to make something that looks "just like Minecraft, but not"  or to find our own visual style in a pixel art vein?